Showing posts with label cs5. Show all posts
Showing posts with label cs5. Show all posts

Wednesday, 18 June 2014

Easy Folded Banner Vector Shape in Photoshop

logo_banner
First published at TipSquirrel.com by Eric Renno

The folded banner is a popular feature at the moment so it was no surprise that I was asked if I could come up with an easy way to create one. The result is not only easy but is created entirely with vectors which means its scalable while remaining  completely editable. Don't panic if you're not used to using vectors, there's nothing that a beginner won't be able to handle here, yes I use the Pen tool but to make just a single click. The circular 'Coffee' logo here is the result of another tutorial, Text on a Circular Path which you can find here. This tutorial was produced in response to a reader question. If you have a question you can email, comment or use the contact page to drop us a note.

Monday, 17 February 2014

Pen Tool in Photoshop - Path Fundamentals


Originally posted at TipSquirrel.com
 
Photoshop Nut : Michael Hoffman 

image
The pen tool is one of the most powerful means of creating precise selections. In this series of videos, we are going to work our way from the basics to pen tool mastery, but we need to start with the fundamentals. In fact, in this video, I’m not even going to use the pen tool. Instead, we’ll spend our time understanding how paths work in Photoshop, so that when we do start using the pen tool, we’ll be on familiar ground.

 

See more from this series at TipSquirrel.com

Saturday, 29 December 2012

From The TipSquirrel.com Archive : The Photoshop CS6 Oil Paint Filter

Originally posted at TipSquirrel.com
Photoshop Nut : Dan Moughamian


Sometimes it's good to take a step back and have a little fun with Photoshop. Try new filters, new blend modes... experiment a bit! Photoshop CS6 offers plenty of opportunity for this with new features like Blur Gallery, greatly improved Lighting Effects, and the new Oil Paint filter, which we'll talk about here. Traditionally most creative or painterly filters end up in the Filter Gallery, but the Oil Paint filter is a new breed. It has been accelerated to take advantage of fast GPUs (or graphics cards) and provides instantaneous feedback as you adjust the settings, and you can find it right at the top of the menu!
Oil Paint - Filter Menu

Smart Oil Paint Filter

As a starting point, it's usually a good idea to convert the layer you're going to work on into a Smart Object (or Smart Filter) layer. In this case, I've given myself a head-start by opening the raw image as a Smart Object. Once you've done that, chose Filter > Oil Paint. Next you'll want to zoom in to at least 33 or 50% on most photos, more so if they're very large. The idea is that you want to see the contrast edges as well as some of the grain and detail in the shot. Oil Paint Filter UI To test things out, move the Stylization control from side to side and watch the preview as you do so; can you see any obvious changes? If not, you need to zoom in at least one more level. The Stylization control has an interesting effect. The best analogy I can make is that the lower values give the simulated oil paint a more random and almost clumpy appearance, almost like it was painted onto a rougher canvas or with an older brush that had lots of dried paint on it. Personally I like oil paintings to have a smoother look so I set this example to a value just over 7 (the max is 10). Oil Paint Filter - Stylization

Brush Controls

The Cleanliness slider has a similar effect to Stylization except that it tends to break up the contrast lines (i.e. simulated paint streaks). The lower the value, the more broken the paint lines appear to be. You might think of boosting this setting  as well however I think it adds an element of realism to keep the value under 5. After all if we're painting with human hands and not robot hands, we're probably going to have an element of waviness to the contrasts we create with a real paint brush, so it should be the same with digital. Oil Paint Filter - Cleanliness The Scale control is pretty important and it's one you'll want to zoom out to evaluate as you make the setting. Think about the relative size the image will be viewed at and try to mimic that level of magnification if you can. The larger the scale, the more obvious the paint patterns will be. Move the slider back and forth a couple times to get a sense for what the effect does. I usually settle on a value between 3 and 7. As with the prior two settings, the max is 10 and decimals are used so the options are fairly precise. Oil Paint Filter - Scale The last brush control is Bristle Detail and you can think of this as mimicking the look of a brush that shows individual bristle lines vs very smooth paint strokes. I usually leave this value quite high depending on the first couple settings. If you make it too low I think it loses the character of oil paint a bit. This is one you'll want to be zoomed in with to see clearly. Even then it can be a little tough. Oil Paint Filter - Detail

Lighting

The Angular Direction control will "rotate" the effect (e.g. moving from 180 to 360 is basically inverting the contrast lines to create the sense that light is shining on the canvas from the opposite direction), while the Shine control will change the oil paint from looking flat to looking wet (i.e. more reflective in the bright areas). Try to rotate the effect so that it runs parallel to the most important visual lines in your image (or specific textures you want to highlight). Oil Paint Filter - Direction The Shine can put the finishing touch on the shot and make the difference between something that looks like paint or not. With these two controls it's generally best to zoom out a bit to normal viewing magnifications. Oil Paint Filter - Wet The final result is shown below. When you're done, click OK to apply the filter to your new Smart Object layer, then double click the filter name (below the layer) any time you want to revise your settings. Tip: Don't forget to rasterize your smart filter layer before scaling your oil painting! [caption id="attachment_14612" align="aligncenter" width="550"] Snow Statue © Dan Moughamian[/caption]

Friday, 28 December 2012

From The TipSquirrel.com Archive : Stripy Text with Photoshop Layer Styles

Originally posted at TipSquirrel.com
Photoshop Nut : Simon Rudd



More text antics with Photoshop. We shall try and create this...

  final

Step 1.

step1 Start by creating a new Photoshop Document, I used 1024x768 at 72 ppi, but as always its really up to you. I then set my background Colour to Red #c0292f, you can either just fill the Background Layer with red or create a new Layer and colour that red.

Step 2.

step2 Next reset the Swatches to default by pressing D on your keyboard, follow this by pressing X to swap the foreground and background and make White the foreground colour. Choose the Text Tool and select the font Impact (or anything else big and bold), set the size to 150. Type something on on your screen.

Step 3.

We are now going to add some Layer Styles to our text, you can do this by going to Layer > Layer Style > or by pressing the fx button on the bottom of the Layer Palette. First Choose the Bevel and Emboss style and perform the following actions (most of them are the default styles) step3a Set the Gloss Contour to the preset Ring(bottom row, 2nd in) step3b Next add a Inner Glow, Stroke step3c step3e Finally add a Gradient Overlay as in the picture step3d finally reduce the Fill Opacity of the Layer to 24% step3f

Step 4.

step4 Next we are going to add a new Layer above the Text Layer and fill it with clouds by going to Filter > Render > Clouds. This will generate a random selection of cloud like texture over the picture. Next we want to put a selection around the Text, you can easily do this by holding the Control Key on your Keyboard and clicking the Text Layer. Now making sure you are on your clouds Layer create a new Layer Mask. Layer > Layer Mask > Reveal Selection. Finally reduce the Fill opacity to 30%.

Step 5.

step5 We want to now use the Line tool, set the size to 50 pixels and draw a series of lines across the text as in the picture below...

Step 6

Select all of your stripes layers in the Layer Palette (hold control and click once on each one) and the clip them to the Clouds Layer, Layer > Create Clipping Layer. You can now put things under the text and they will show through... step6 Hope you enjoyed this tutorial :) Please look out for me on Twitter and say hello, also have a look at my website http://www.simonrudd.info

Wednesday, 26 December 2012

From The TipSquirrel.com Archive : Holiday Photo Photoshop Clinic

Originally posted at TipSquirrel.com
Photoshop Nut : Richard Harrington

harrington_xmas-clinicJoin Rich as he tackles 12 holiday images. This in-depth class will show you how to fix both standard and advanced problems that often plague holiday photos. With almost an hour of tuition Rich shares some great techniques that will be handy all year!    

Books_Amazon_Harrington